Ma tanière… My den…

La vie de ma meute… My pack's life…

« Why is it not cool to call an autistic person “high functioning?” »

Poster un commentaire

Original article on « that’s not what jesus is for ».

« there is no meaningful difference between Asperger’s and what’s known now as “classic autism.” »

Can we stop the segregation, now that’s been said !?! Yea, I’m « just » PDD-NOS, not asperger’s, so no one ever wants to know how I live or function, because, no, I’m not asperger’s. Can we just stop this?

« Whether or not an autistic person can communicate, go to college, live in their community, have friends, etc etc etc, has more to do with the people around them and how they are treated than anything else. »

There’s a lot of diversity in autism and autistic people. Some autistic people have savant skills. Most of us do not. Some autistic people don’t speak orally, but use their hands or a VOCA instead. The vast majority of us can speak, to some degree, although it’s by definition trickier for us. Over 90% of autistic people have symptoms of an anxiety disorder, depression, or PTSD due to living in a social environment that is often actively hostile. Over 90% of autistic people are unemployed, due to educational neglect, poverty, lack of supports, social issues, straight-up discrimination, or a million other reasons having nothing to do with actual ability. Different autistic people have different sensory and motor issues, different obsessions, and different difficulties in our day-to-day life, but, by definition, we all have all of these things.

You know what? It feels good to read this because it reassures me. I don’t work and it’s ok, it’s not because I don’t try hard enough to find « a job compatible with autism ».
Sometimes I think « but there are autistic people who work! » Yes, there are, they were lucky to find that job but it’s still ok I didn’t find one.
Yes, I still have times when I feel bad about being *who I am* but I’m learning on accepting and loving myself just the way I am. It takes a while, though, we’re not always told that we can just love ourselves the way we are.
I don’t know if cats would rather be dogs because it’s more normal…

Auteur : Marie "Wolf" Bernat

Semi-nomade qui aime raconter des histoires et explorer la vie, sur le spectre autistique. Semi-nomadic who loves telling stories and exploring life, on the autism spectrum.

Laisser un commentaire

